Panel Chairs of the ERC Peer Review Panels **ERC Advanced Grant Panel 2011**

Updated February 2011

The list below includes the panel chairs in the fourth ERC Advanced Grants peer review process, identified and invited by the ERC Scientific Council. There are in total 25 panels, divided between the 3 domains as follows: 9 panels in Life Sciences (LS), 10 panels in Physical Science and Engineering, and 6 panels in Social Sciences and Humanities (SH). The full list of ERC peer reviewers (panel members and remote referees) will be published by the European Commission after the conclusion of the current peer review process.

Note to applicants:

This information is given for reasons of transparency. Under no circumstances should peer reviewers be contacted by applicants, potential applicants or potential host institutions. Questions can be addressed to:

- ERC Helpdesk http://ec.europa.eu/research/enquiries
- ERC National Contact Points http://erc.europa.eu/ncp

LIFE SCIENCES

LS1 Molecular and structural biology and biochemistry: Prof. Joel L. Sussman

LS2 Genetics, genomics, bioinformatics and systems biology: Dr. Peer Bork

Dr. Anne Ridley LS3 Cellular and developmental biology:

LS4 Physiology, pathophysiology and endocrinology: Prof. Johan Henri L. Auwerx

LS5 Neurosciences and neural disorders: Dr. Roger A. Barker

Prof. Luke O'Neill LS6 Immunity and infection:

LS7 Diagnostic tools, therapies and public health: Prof. Dimitrios Boumpas LS8 Evolutionary, population and environmental biology: Prof. Maurice W. Sabelis

LS9 Applied life sciences and biotechnology: Prof. Regine Kahmann

SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES

SH1 Individuals, institutions and markets: Prof. Bengt Holmström SH2 Institutions, values, beliefs and behaviour: Prof. Arne Kalleberg Prof. Susan S. Fainstein SH3 Environment, space and population: SH4 The human mind and its complexity: Prof. Michel Denis SH5 Cultures and cultural production: Prof. Erika Fischer-Lichte SH6 The study of the human past: Prof. Alain Dewerpe

DOMAIN PHYSICAL SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

PE1 Mathematics: Prof. Rolf Jeltsch

PE2 Fundamental constituents of matter: Prof. Elisabeth Giacobino

PE3 Condensed matter physics: Prof. Laurens W. Molenkamp

PE4 Physical and analytical chemical sciences: Prof. Claudine Noguera

PE5 Materials and synthesis: Prof. Dieter Fenske

PE6 Computer science and informatics: Prof. Carlo Ghezzi

PE7 Systems and communication engineering: Prof. Alessandro De Luca

PE8 Products and process engineering: Prof. Viggo Tvergaard PE9 Universe sciences: Prof. Rolf-Peter Kudritzki

PE10 Earth system science: Prof. Jean Jouzel