

Panel Chairs of the ERC Peer Review Panels **ERC Starting Grant Panel 2011**

The list below includes the panel chairs in the fourth ERC Starting Grants peer review process, identified and invited by the ERC Scientific Council. There are in total 25 panels, divided between the 3 domains as follows: 9 panels in Life Sciences (LS), 10 panels in Physical Science and Engineering, and 6 panels in Social Sciences and Humanities (SH).

Note to applicants:

This information is given for reasons of transparency. Under no circumstances should panel chairs be contacted by applicants, potential applicants or potential host institutions.

Questions can be addressed to:

- ERC Helpdesk http://ec.europa.eu/research/index.cfm?lg=en&pg=enquiries
- ERC National Contact Points http://erc.europa.eu/ncp

LIFE SCIENCES

- LS1 Molecular and Structural Biology and Biochemistry:
- LS2 Genetics, genomics, bioinformatics and systems biology:
- LS3 Cellular and Developmental Biology:
- LS4 Physiology, Pathophysiology and Endocrinology:
- LS5 Neurosciences and neural disorders:
- LS6 Immunity and infection:
- LS7 Diagnostic tools, therapies and public health:
- LS8 Evolutionary, population and environmental biology:
- LS9 Applied life sciences and biotechnology:

SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES

- SH1 Individuals, institutions and markets: Prof. Jordi Galí SH2 Institutions, values, beliefs and behaviour: Prof. Ronald Rogowski SH3 Environment and society: Prof. Mark Rounsevell SH4 The human mind and its complexity: Prof. Luciano Fadiga SH5 Cultures and cultural production: Prof. Simon Goldhill
- SH6 The study of the human past:

DOMAIN PHYSICAL SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

- PE1 Mathematical foundations:
- PE2 Fundamental constituents of matter:
- PE3 Condensed matter in physics:
- PE4 Physical and Analytical Chemical sciences:
- PE5 Material and synthesis:
- PE6 Computer science and informatics:
- PE7 Systems and communication engineering:
- PE8 Products and process engineering:
- PE9 Universe sciences:
- PE10 Earth system science:

- Prof. Reinhard Jahn
- Prof. Marja Makarow
- Prof. Christer Betsholtz
- Prof. Ole H. Petersen
- Prof. Andrea Kleinschmidt
- Prof. Maria Grazia Roncarolo
- Prof. Hans Bräuner-Osborne
- Prof. Lars Chittka
- Prof. Francisco Tomás-Barberán
- Prof. Jane Burbank
- Prof. Janusz Grabowski Prof. Sune Svanberg Prof. Yvan Bruynseraede Prof. Philippe Sautet Prof. Jeffrey Alan Hubbell Prof. Stefan Jähnichen Prof. Palle Jeppesen Prof. Guy Marin
 - Prof. Georges Meylan Prof. Daniel Conley