

Established by the European Commission

Statement by European Research Council President Professor Helga Nowotny on the announcement of new ERC President

17 December 2013

On the occasion of today's announcement by the European Commission that Professor Jean-Pierre Bourguignon will become the new President of the European Research Council (ERC) as of 1 January 2014, current ERC President, Professor Helga Nowotny, stated: "I am very satisfied with this excellent choice and the thorough professional work accomplished by the independent Search Committee. As foreseen in the legislation, the ERC Scientific Council has also been involved in the process and has expressed its agreement. The ERC will enter a new phase under the EU research programme Horizon 2020. With his highly distinguished and international academic profile, Professor Jean-Pierre Bourguignon will be able to build on what has been achieved so far, but he will need to be vigilant to safeguard the unique specificity of the ERC in the years to come. I am sure that Professor Bourguignon will provide strong leadership and that the ERC will continue to thrive. I wish him much success."

Prof. Bourguignon will be the first ERC President to be based in Brussels and to cover the previous role of ERC Secretary General. His mandate is for four years.

- Exclusive video interview with Prof. Jean-Pierre Bourguignon on the appointment
- Video Exchange of views Prof. Helga Nowotny and Prof. Jean-Pierre Bourguignon

Biography of Prof. Jean-Pierre Bourguignon





European Research Council

Scientific Council

Established by the European Commission

Background

Based on the 2009 external ERC Review and the subsequent 2011 Task Force report, the ERC will undergo

some changes in its governance when the new framework programme Horizon 2020 comes into force. Most

importantly, the ERC will for the first time have a Brussels-based President. This will in effect merge the current

position of ERC President and ERC Secretary General. Until now, the latter has been the ERC Scientific Council's

permanent representative in Brussels.

Prof. Helga Nowotny took office as ERC President in March 2010 and her mandate ends at the close of 2013.

She succeeded the founding ERC President, Prof. Fotis Kafatos, before which she was ERC Vice-President

(2007-2010). Prof. Donald Dingwell's mandate as ERC Secretary General started in September 2010 and ends at

the close of 2013. The founding Secretary General was Prof. Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, who was succeeded by

Prof. Andreu Mas-Colell.

Set up in 2007 by the European Union, the European Research Council (ERC) aims to stimulate scientific

excellence in Europe by encouraging competition for funding between the very best, creative researchers of any

nationality and age from anywhere in the world. From 2007 to 2013, as part of the seventh EU Research

Framework Programme (FP7), the ERC's budget was €7.5 billion. Under Horizon 2020, the EU's new Framework Programme for Research and Innovation (2014-2020), the ERC will have a budget of over €13 billion, which is a

substantial increase.

The ERC has adopted an 'investigator-driven', 'bottom-up' approach, which allows researchers to identify new

opportunities in any field of research. Since its launch, the ERC has funded nearly 4,000 top researchers

throughout Europe, and has become a "benchmark" of the competitiveness of national research systems as it

complements existing funding schemes at national and European levels. The ERC is composed of an

independent governing body, the Scientific Council, and the implementing arm in Brussels, the Executive Agency.

Links:

European Commission announcement on new ERC President

ERC statement in French

Video interview in French

ERC website

ERC Press contacts

Madeleine DRIELSMA

Press and Communication advisor

Phone: +32 (0)2 298 76 31 Mobile: +32 (0)498 98 43 97

ERC-press@ec.europa.eu

Marie FRENAY

Press assistant

Phone: +32 (0)2 296 45 32

ERC-press@ec.europa.eu

