Executive Agency

The ERC Executive Agency (ERCEA) implements and manages ERC operations.

The ERCEA was created in order to manage exclusively the Ideas programme (part of the EU's FP7), in line with the requirement to establish a "Dedicated Implementation Structure" for the ERC. However, it now works under the new Horizon 2020 programme, with similar goals.
As for all Executive Agencies, it is managed by a Director and a Steering Committee, both appointed by the Commission.

The activities of the Executive Agency include:

  • Executing the annual work programme, as defined by the ERC Scientific Council and adopted by the Commission
  • Implementing calls for proposals, in accordance with the work programme
  • Providing information and support to applicants
  • Organising peer review evaluation
  • Establishing and managing grant agreements, in accordance with the EU's financial regulations
  • Providing assistance to the ERC Scientific Council
  • Communicating about the ERC

The ERCEA subscribes to the Public service principles for the EU civil servants

ERCEA management

The ERCEA is led by the Director, who is responsible for the day-to-day management of the agency and its staff and also for the implementation of the ERC's strategy and positions, as defined by the ERC Scientific Council.

Pablo Amor is the Director of the ERCEA since 1 August 2012. He has been ERCEA Director ad interim since January 2011, when he took over the position from the previous Director, Jack Metthey.

Download here the ERCEA Organisation Chart

See also the EU Who-is-who for management contact details

Steering Committee

The ERC Executive Agency Steering Committee is the body that supervises the operations of the ERC Executive Agency.

It adopts the Agency's annual work programmes, administrative budget and annual reports.

The current membership of the ERC Executive Agency Steering Committee is as follows:

  • Robert-Jan Smits, Director-General of the Directorate General for Research and Innovation, Chair of the Steering Committee
  • Kurt Vandenberghe, Director for Policy Development and Coordination in DG RTD, Vice-chair of the Steering Committee
  • Henk Post, Permanent Rapporteur to the Consultative Committee on Appointments
  • Tomas Jungwirth, Member of the ERC Scientific Council
  • Janet Thornton, M ember of the ERC Scientific Council

It is the European Commission that appoints the members of the Steering Committee for a (renewable) period of two years.