Click on the name to display the content

Wednesday 29 February | Thursday 1 March 

14:15 - 15:00


15:00 - 15:30 

Opening address by Helga Nowotny, ERC President

Video message by José Manuel Barroso, European Commission President

15:30 - 15:50

The "genesis" of the ERC: Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, former ERC Secretary General, and William Cannell, Adviser to the Director General, DG Research and Innovation, European Commission

15:50 - 17:30


Round-table discussion: "Excellence and brain circulation in the global scientific landscape"

  • United States: Carmen Huber, European Office Head, National Science Foundation
  • Brazil: Hernan Chaimovich, Coordinator of the Research, Innovation and Dissemination Centers, FAPESP
  • India: Roddam Narasimha, Honorary Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research
  • South Africa: Gansen Pillay, Vice President, National Research Foundation
  • Russia: Dmitry Sidorov-Biryukov, act. dep. chairman Russian Foundation for Basic Research
  • Moderator: Donald Dingwell, ERC Secretary General

17:30 - 18:00

Coffee break                                                        

17:30 - 18:00

Press point (for journalists only)

18:00 - 20:30

Evening Celebration

Evening celebrations with the participation of Máire Geoghegan-Quinn European Commissioner for Research and Innovation, Morten Østergaard, Danish Minister for Research, Innovation and Higher Education, and Amalia Sartori, Chair, ITRE Committee, European Parliament and Helga Nowotny, ERC President.

Moderation: Jack Metthey, Director, DG Research and Innovation, European Commission, and Alex Taylor, journalist.

Presentations by 5 ERC grant holders to celebrate 5 years of ERC:

  • Cathy Craig, Queen's University - Starting Grant 2007 / Psychology, Perception, Action, Ageing, Parkinson’s
  • Søren Kragh Moestrup, Aarhus University - Advanced Grant 2008 / Biochemistry
  • Marco Dorigo, Université Libre de Bruxelles - Advanced Grant 2009 / Robotics 
  • Maciej Konacki, Polish Academy of Science - Starting Grant 2010 / Astronomy, Stellar evolution and planet formation
  • Stéphanie Lacour, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne - Starting Grant 2010 / Bioengineering, materials science and biotechnology

 20:30 - 22:00

Cocktail dînatoire