

Panel Chairs of the ERC Peer Review Panels ERC Synergy Grants 2020

The Synergy grants evaluation is carried out in three steps, including interviews in the third step. At step 1 a single panel is formed. Around 80 carefully selected Synergy panel members and 5 chairs ensure a wide generalist approach to reviewing. In addition to Synergy panel members, members of other ERC frontier calls, called panel evaluators (PEVs) can complement the expertise of the step 1 panel. Right after the step 1 decisions, five multidisciplinary panels will be constituted. Each panel will have 15 - 18 members selected from the step 1 pool of Synergy panel members. At step 2 external reviewers will complement the generalist perspective of the SyG panel members. External reviewers do not participate in panel meetings. They are scientists and scholars who bring in the necessary specialised expertise and deliver their individual assessments by electronic means. In step 3, the interview panels may be reconfigured.

## Panel chairs of the ERC Synergy grant 2020 call:

- Professor Hans-Ulrich Blaser
- Professor Jean-Pierre Gorvel
- Professor Dragan Mihailovic
- Professor Sharon Tooze
- Professor Peter Wagner

## Questions can be addressed to:

- ERC Helpdesk
- ERC National Contact Points

## Note to applicants:

This information is given for reasons of transparency. <u>Under no circumstances should applicants or host institutions' representatives contact the Synergy grants 2020 peer reviewers.</u> Such contact can constitute an exclusion situation and, if this situation is established in accordance with Article 106 of the Financial Regulation, will result in the decision of the ERCEA to reject the proposal concerned from the Synergy grant 2020 call.

The names of panel chairs are publicly available after the call publication. The names of panel members are published on the ERC website after the final results have been communicated to all applicants. The full list of ERC peer reviewers (panel members and external reviewers) will be published by the European Commission after the conclusion of the peer review process.