You are here

EURAXESS North America Information Session co-organized with The University of Texas at Austin
Thursday, 15 February 2018 at 2:00 – 5:00pm CST
The University of Texas at Austin, Electrical & Computer Engineering - 2501 Speedway, C0803
EER Building Room 0.806



2:00 – 2:05       Welcoming remarks
Dr. Sharon Wood
, Dean of the Cockrell School of Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin

2:05 – 2:15       Opening remarks
Mr. Wolfgang Burtscher
, Deputy Director General of Directorate General for Research and Innovation

2:15 – 2:35       Horizon 2020 – EU’s Framework Programme for Research and Innovation - Open to the World
Dr. Mary Kavanagh
, Minister-Counselor for Research & Innovation, Delegation of the EU to the USA

2:35 – 2:55       EURAXESS – Researchers in Motion initiative (overview of the 4 pillars: Jobs, Services, Rights and Worldwide)
Ms. Viktoria Bodnarova, Regional Representative, EURAXESS North America

2:55 – 3:40       Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions (MSCA): special focus on Individual Fellowships (opportunities mainly for graduate students & US institutions to host fellows from Europe)
Mr. David Wizel, Head of Sector, Research Executive Agency, European Commission

3:40 – 4:25       European Research Council (ERC) Grants (opportunities mainly for postdocs and more experienced researchers)
Dr. Jose Labastida, Head of the Scientific Management Department, ERC Executive Agency

4:25 – 5:00       Q&A