A Sustainable Future for Europe – The Contribution of Frontier Research
03 December 2019
18:00 - 22:30
Palais des Académies, rue Ducale 1, 1000 Brussels, Belgium
European Research Council (ERC)
Cover image of A Sustainable Future for Europe – The Contribution of Frontier Research

By invitation only. The event will be webstreamed hereunder.


Master of Ceremonies: Tony LOCKETT, Head of ERCEA Communications Unit

17:00 - 17:30 | Registration of participants and welcome drink

17:30 - 17:50 | Welcome remarks and Opening statements

  • Prof. Jean-Pierre BOURGUIGNON,
    ERC President
  • Eva KAILI,
    Chair of the Panel for the Future of Science and Technology (STOA), European Parliament
  • Prof. France CORDOVA,
    Director of the US National Science Foundation
    (video message)


17:50 - 18:50 | Panel debate in partnership with EURACTIV
A global perspective on frontier research with a view on sustainability
Moderated by Jennifer BAKER

  • Sir Peter J. RATCLIFFE,
    Nobel Prize winner in Physiology or Medicine 2019, ERC Advanced Grant holder, Director for the Target Discovery Institute at Oxford University and Director of Clinical Research at Francis Crick Institute, London
  • Prof. Robbert DIJKGRAAF,
    Director of the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, United States of America
  • Prof. Subra SURESH,
    President of Nanyang Technological University, Singapore  
    Permanent Secretary in the Finnish Ministry of Education and Culture  


18:50 - 19:35 | Highlights of ERC funded projects
Presentations by 4 ERC grantees:

  • Wolfgang LUTZ, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis,  Austria,
    Advanced Grant, Social Sciences and Humanities -
    Read the story
  • Sarah Mc CORMACK, Trinity College, Ireland,
    Starting Grant, Physical Sciences and Engineering -
    Read the story
  • Anne MAGURRAN, University of St Andrews, United Kingdom,
    Advanced Grant, Life Sciences -
    Read the story
  • Charles BAROUD, CNRS, France,
    Starting Grant, Proof of Concept, Physical Sciences and Engineering -
    Read the story

19:35  - 20:00 | Closing remarks

  • David SASSOLI,
    President of the European Parliament (video message)
  • Dr Tome Antičić,
    State Secretary at the Ministry of Science and Education. Republic of Croatia
  • Mariya GABRIEL,
    European Commissioner for Research, Innovation, Education, Culture and Youth
  • Prof. Jean-Pierre BOURGUIGNON,
    ERC President


20:00 - 21:30 | Farewell reception for ERC President Jean-Pierre Bourguignon




Other information